Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well enough of telling you about the gateway to Palace, I need to start talking of food. It didn’t take me long to sniff out a new place for coffee and cake and we soon shoe-horned our way in to the shoebox-sized Blackbird Bakery’ for such a treat. It’s a tiny cake-hole with 2 tables, 4 chairs and a bench. Too small to bake the fresh bread and cakes on the premises I was informed that all the bits and pieces are delivered from their local bakery in West Norwood. So, it’s where we’ve been spending some of our free time… until it closed down…. And reopened as a larger format next to a restaurant selling empanadas. (Cholesterol count is taking a battering).

The team in there are friendly and bring over the coffee that they take great pride in preparing. Being a bit of a coffee snob I don’t mind my coffee taking a little time and care to get to me. The cafe does cross the border into trendyville with miss-matched crockery and so forth, but hey, as residents of Bloggingham Palace we often use different things to present our foods…

Anyway now it’s a lot larger. You might think that it would have lost a little charm having moved from its thin-end-of-the-wedge shaped shop. Well, possibly. However, it means that there is more room for food and more room to sit. Fresh bread occupies the wall to the right as you walk in. On the right a multi-deck display fridge with soups and salads ready to go.

I have to admit, a few ideas for snacks have come from here. I made some pork and apricot sausage rolls for when some friends the other week something I had seen in BlackBird Bakery. So I sit, right a little, doodle and normally enjoy a chicken pie.

Check out their Facebook page for their choice of breads, savoury snacks and cakes. I bought a fresh white baton there this morning and will be making it into a bruschetta dish tonight!

Tim -Still more Crystal Palace to come😉