Tags

, , , , ,

“Palmiers: I hadn’t heard of them until about six months ago and now I can’t forget about them… This is probably because their alternative name is elephant ears and if there’s one thing I know about elephants it’s that… er.. nevermind…

In some elephant-shaped circles they’re known as French Hearts which is another nice way of thinking of these little pastry bites. Although not in the slightest bit healthy, remember Freesia’s mantra of ‘everything in moderation’… Just make sure that if you do try something naughty that it is TOTALLY worth it… (that’s my mantra).. Or you’ll end up with the body shape of an elephant to match those elephant’s ears🙂

Best wishes to all and now over to the wonderful Freesia!

Tim”

What an easy and good idea for finger food! That was what I thought when I saw the recipe on the BBC recipes website. And as I had made my own Oven dried tomatoes, then there is no excuse not to try this.

Ingredients

  • Oven dried tomatoes (see the recipe by clicking on the link)
  • low fat puff pastry
  • 1 beaten egg
  • rosemary

Praparation

Roll the puff pastry until you get 5mm thickness. Chop the dried tomatoes and rosemary leaves and put them on top.

Roll the dough from each side halfway to the centre (see picture) and store it in the fridge for half an hour. After that, brush the roll with a beaten egg and cut in to rounds of 1cm thick.

Place them on an oven tray and put it into the oven (180ºC) for 20 minutes.

Serve them in bowls or large plates so people can help themselves! Enjoy!