Tags

, , , ,

I don’t know why I never made conserves before having a mum that makes tomato sauce, jams and fruits every summer. If a nuclear war broke out we’d have enough jars of stuff to last us for ages… Especially as the bread would go moldy after a few days anyway.

So here I am introducing myself in this world with my first attempt: Onion Marmalade. Although we have a new book about this, this time I adapted the recipe from this other one Jams, conserves & preserving by Akiko Ida I borrowed form the local library.

The book is nice, and the recipe was easy to follow except for two things: 1. I am totally fan of pictures when it comes to cooking books, especially with the step by step process and sadly this one doesn’t have many. 2. Some information is a little sketchy like quantities of salt to add, etc. However, in general it is a good one!

Ingredients to make 450g of jam

  • 500g of onions
  • 250ml red wine
  • 250ml grenadine syrup
  • 125ml wine vinegar
  • 100g sugar
  • salt (I used 1/2 of a tsp)
  • pepper

Preparation

To steralise the jars, put them upside down in a big saucepan with water. Bring it to boil and “cook” them for 10 minutes. Once they are cool, place them upside down on a kitchen tissue.

Chop the onions and cook them in a saucepan at a very low temperture for 15-20 min.

Add the wine vinegar and the wine and increase the heat to high and cook (still covered) for 10 min. Then uncovered for 5 minutes until reduced.

Lower the heat again adding the sugar and grenadine syrup, stir well and simmer for 30 minutes. You’ll notice that it will gradually thicken.

Remove from the heat and leave to cool. Pour into the jar when still warm, label, decorate and store!