Tags

, , , , , ,

Hey y’all!

I was in the local supermarket a little while ago and I noticed a special deal on coley. I can’t remember exactly how much but it was cheap as chips – if not cheaper! Coley apparently comes from the cod family, a poor relation as it were… The spotty, less desirable sibling of fish-finger family favourite. But, it’s a decent fish, easy to work and goes really well as a fish cake. According to my dad coley used to be used as cat food, and we know how much cats like fish! So it must be good.

Ingredients for 2 people

  • 20g onion
  • 1 lemon
  • 250g Coley
  • 200g new potatoes
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 pint of skimmed milk
  • fresh Dill

Preparation

OK, so peel and chop the potatoes into 1cm cubes. In a large pan gently heat some milk (skimmed for the weight-conscious) and add your potato. Stir frequently so as not to burn the milk. As the potatoes begin to soften add some finely chopped garlic and onion.

Season as desired, adding some dill. Dill is quite potent and coley is quite mild so, be weary! If the picture of me removing the skin from the fish leaves you none-the-wiser there are plenty of videos on search engines with professionals showing you how to do it properly.

Remove any bones that maybe in your way and tear the fish apart in your hands. Add to the pan and continue to stir well. When all the ingredients are cooked remove from the heat and pour the mixture through a sieve. Keep the fishy-milk as a form of stock to cook the peas in (I tried this but ended up pouring it over everything by accident). I won’t give you instructions on how to achieve that.

Leave the fish mixture (fixture I shall call it for short) to cool. Once cooled, use your hands to form patty shapes and place in beaten egg so that all of the cake has been touched. Then place in breadcrumbs so that the entire patty is covered. Place in the oven to brown at 180c.

Crispy leek

  • 1 large leek
  • olive oil

Clean the leek carefully and chop very finely into strips. Place in boiling water for 2 minutes and remove onto a clean towel/piece of kitchen roll. Once dried, place in a hot pan with the olive oil and fry.

Pea purée (Check the recipe clicking here)

Asparagus, carrots and kale

Steaming asparagus gives the healthiest results I fried mine in a little olive oil with some salt. If you live near a stockist of sampire, I would suggest trying this – it’s a form of salt-water asparagus which I believe would go with this dish amazingly. However, it’s all guesswork and you guys are the guinea pigs so let me know how it works out!

The carrots I cut into great big jenga-size pieces, parboiled then rinsed in cold water. I then dry-fried them before placing in an oven to finish off. I then stacked them to make them look… pretentious is the closest word I can think of…

Kale is dangerous. I fry mine after washing with water. It spits like a the mutant offspring of a premiership footballer and a camel and can catch on any naked flame. Be careful! I can’t afford to lose any readers to burnt down houses, etc! It also shrinks when cooking so you’ll need more than you originally thought,

OK, so plate it up! The colours work pretty well together and as I said, even though it maybe the ugly sibling of cod it’s very good at making friends with all sorts of spices and vegetables! Enjoy it and rate it please!

Tim