Tags

, , , , ,

Freesia: “Hello there! Hope you enjoy this recipe. I am not a big fan of coriander, but I think carrots and coriander are a good couple. Btw, our coriander has flowers now!”

Tim: “Through a little background reading I’ve found that coriander is a natural preservative. I guess this could explain its popularity around the world, especially in hot climates where food can spoil quickly… No such luck in North London for us unfortunately. In Iran it has been used to treat anxiety… I’m guessing for the leaders of this country its effectiveness as a treatment for this is somewhat aided by the acquisition of nuclear arms (this is my attempt at satire, not at politics).

We all know politics and food are two things designed to ruin a meal, so I will shut up! Enjoy the soup!🙂 ”

Ingredients for 4 people

  • 5 medium size carrots
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 medium-sized potato
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tbsp of fresh coriander
  • 1 vegetable stock cube
  • approx 2 pints of water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt, pepper

Preparation

1. Chop the onion and the garlic and sauté them in a saucepan with 2 tbsp of olive oil until onion is golden brown.

2. Add the chopped carrots and potato and cook for about 2 minutes.

3. Add the water, the stock and the chopped fresh coriander.

4. Cook for about 20 minutes until carrots are soft. As per every other soup recipe I’ve posted; blend and serve (with crusty bread)!