Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Another Halloween is coming soon, parties, costumes and treats everywhere. No matter your age, it is always fun to plan something to do. 
Last year’s Halloween was a bit different to this year one though, we were living in Watford in a shared house and I must admit that I got very excited with the idea of kids knocking the door with a sweet ‘trick or treat’.

The reason is I only have seen this in the films from the US and of course where I come from this never happened. So we bought some sweets and our housemate J. had the idea of decorating the front garden with some left over from past Halloween parties at the house so we put some graves outside to show that we had some sweets at the house. We also wore some capes and masks (also J.’s idea) and when they knocked the door there were 2 zombies waiting for them with a bag full of sweets.

This year will be different, first of all we now leave in a rooftop flat. So I don’t think kids will come and ring the 4 bells of the building for someone to go downstairs to give them sweets.

Our plan is to make a nice pumpkin soup and enjoy our evening, without scary films because either me or Tim can’t watch them -yes, we get very scared with them at the point of scream or cry.

(I don’t think that I have ever screamed or cried during a scary film… Tim)

So, Tim bought a huge pumpkin for £1.50 and made a lot of pumpkin soup so it is already in the freezer waiting for the 31st of October.

(Also, last year I made the same soup but added some curry powder, cumin and coriander… It tasted great from my point of view – unfortunately Freesia doesn’t like those sorts of flavours so I had to enjoy it by myself… I was not allowed to make the same mistake 2 years running though :) )

Ingredients

  • Pumpkin (as much as you can)
  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • vegetable stock
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  • chilli powder

Preparation

  1. Chop an onion and 2 cloves of garlic and sauté them in a saucepan with a bit of olive oil. Add some salt and pepper and when the onion is transparent, add the chopped pumpkin.
  2. Add 2 pints of water, the vegetable stock and the chili powder. Leave it simmering until the pumpkin is soft.
  3. Blend it and add some cottage cheese to add a bit of creaminess.

By the way, do not throw away the seeds, give them a wash and toast them in a frying pan with pepper or spices. It is a delicious snack!

Enjoy Halloween and our Instagram picture!

 

